Huff Hall

I-LEAP Honors Outstanding Students

The Mannie L. Jackson Illinois Academic Enrichment and Leadership Program celebrated six I-LEAP Scholars this year with awards recognizing academic achievement and contributions to their I-LEAP and campus communities.

Emerging Leader Award

Aubrey Cervantes

Aubrey Cervantes

This award is presented to a freshman student who exemplifies the attributes of a distinguished leader. The recipient of this award has exhibited excellence in community service or in a leadership role within I-LEAP or the campus community and demonstrated a potential for continued leadership.

Excellence in Transition Award

Terri Doby

Terri Doby

This award is presented to a new transfer student who has successfully transitioned as a student at Illinois. This student has integrated into the Illinois campus community, excelled academically, and is actively involved in campus life.  The recipient of this award participates in student organizations, research opportunities and/or community service at the campus or Champaign-Urbana level.

Mannie L. Jackson Award

Katelynn Buescher

Katelynn Buescher

This award is presented to a student athlete who is a leader on campus.  The recipient of this award is a student athlete that has demonstrated the characteristics of Mannie L. Jackson including academic excellence, self-discipline in balancing academic and athletic responsibilities, and serving others within the campus and Urbana-Champaign community. 

Outstanding Senior Award


Jayla McGhee

This award is presented to a student who is a model of excellence.  The award is based on the ideals of I-LEAP. The recipient of this award best exemplifies outstanding commitment to academics, community service, and leadership.  

Peer Mentor of the Year Award

Beatrice Benavent

Beatrice Benavent

This award is presented to a student who has shown an outstanding commitment to mentoring first year I-LEAP students.  The individual has had a significant impact on his/her mentee by helping them transition to college, encouraging I-LEAP and campus involvement, and promoting academic success.  

Research Scholar Award

Vin Vo

Vinh Vo

This award is presented to a student who has participated in individual or faculty-led research.  Research activities include conference or poster presentations, publications, etc.